To my sister Abby

 Have I ever told you how beautiful you are? 

Inside and out. When you place your attitude aside your true beauty shows and that, my dear sister, is the Abigail that I love. Which is why I wanted to write this to you. I know you get so frustrated when you see your friends starting to date and you are not. Don’t fret. During these times, you will also see your friends suffer heartbreak. These times can be depressing but they are the times that you need to figure out who you really are. Yeah that sounds so cliche, but once you graduate high school you will see what I am talking about. This time is for YOU! 

Here are some things that I want you to consider when you finally do date.

1. Pray, pray, and pray about it.

If it does not feel right, then it isn’t. Follow your gut not your heart. You heart WILL lead you astray because it mirrors your wants and not God’s wants. That gut feeling that tells you whether or not you should do something is your conscience, or God. Listen to that.

2. Find out what kind of music he listens to. 

I was actually talking to Monica about this last night– their intentions, heart, and actions will reflect what they listen to. If it is Lil Wayne, then his thoughts and feelings will mirror what his songs are about. Trust me, I have experience with this one; if they listen to Lil Wayne, run the other way!

3. Make sure he doesn’t want to be alone with you all the time–he should be more than happy to spend time with your family as well as other friends.

You NEED that time with your friends. 

4. Make sure he wants to do what you want some of the time.

It shouldn’t be what you want all the time, of course, but if you always do what he wants then you will forget all about what you like to do. Then, if you do break up, then it is hard to remember and find what you like to do all over again.

5. I know I tell you this a lot, but wait until after high school!

I am sure any of the guys my age will gladly tell you how immature they were in high school. Whether you believe it or not, you are still really immature too and you want a mature, God-based relationship–trust me! You want to be able to reap benefits from the relationship instead of feeling like you are moving backwards.

6. Lastly, know that I will be there for you no matter what! If you receive a broken heart in the middle of the night, I will drive down and back in time for work if need be. 

I only write this to you because I know what it feels like to be in absolute disarray because of a boy and I want to save you from the hurt that all of it entails. I know that the reason you don’t have a boyfriend right now is because God knows that you are not ready and that He is saving you for something/someone great! Don’t think of it as a bad thing, but rather an absolute blessing! 

LOVE you and I trust that you will make the right decisions. But until then, know that you are single for an amazing reason!

Your sister, 

Sarah Joy.

Leave a Reply

