My family

I was blessed this past weekend to be able to spend time with my family when they came down and took me out to lunch. The morning started out with trying to get a hold of my parents to see when they were planning on being there. Throughout all of this, my big brother Paul called me and said, “So I heard Mom and Dad are taking you out for lunch. Well, what if me and Jaimie (his girlfriend) take you out for dinner?” Pretty sure you could not have wiped the smile off of my face at this point. 

Let me tell you about my family cause I just have to share them with the world!

WARNING: THIS MIGHT GET GUSHY

My dad owns his own business called, QUAlity Painting and More (which I happened to work for for about 4 years). When he is not at work, he is working around the yard or remodeling something in our home. He is the hardest working man I have ever met. My dad and mom have been my rock. My dad was the one who told me that I needed to go to the doctor to get on some depression medication, he has held me while I cried Junior year when one of our friends died in a wreck, held me in his arms while tears were streaming down my face through a panic attack, loved me through my bad relationship no matter how many times I disrespected him, held me when I cried after breaking up with the guy that he absolutely loathed. It’s funny because one of my most fond memories was actually when I was about to get in trouble. I was about seven and I had “mouthed off” to my dad– he gave me a look and reached toward me as I took off running out of the house and up the street and could hear him laughing behind me (However, I got my speed from my dad… dumb). I didn’t even get past the driveway before he had caught me, dragged me into the house and spanked me bare-butt (that happened to me a lot). My dad has been there and loved me through everything I have put him through. We have had so many deep conversations to me and I look forward to them when we do have them cause I always come back with a new, fresh perspective.

My Mom is another one of the hardest working people that I know. She is always striving for new opportunities to make her resume even more impressive. I know she wants a teaching job more than anything right now but I think she is right where God wants her even if she doesn’t see it. I feel like she is always on the same wavelength as me–if I am having an “off” day and not really feeling that happy she somehow knows and will send me a text telling me how much she loves me and how proud she is of me. My mom has been there for me through everything too. Even though it makes me so mad sometimes, I will tell her things and tell her not to tell my dad–somehow, he always finds out (of course), yet, I keep on telling her things. When I was born I had colic so I cried for about the first 6 weeks unless I was sleeping or eating, also, when I was two weeks old I was in the hospital for a while because I had spinal meningitis and even though at a young age I tested her patience, she still loved me even then. She still loved me when I was four and took off down the street completely naked and dripping water looking for her just because I didn’t know where she was. Unfortunately, I can still remember the look of shock on her face once she saw me. 

Then, there is Paul. Paul is my older brother and one of the most driven, hard-working, smartest guys I know. He started his own business when he was a junior in high school and had people working for him at that age as well. When he could have been having social time with his friends, he was out working. He joined the marines right out of high school and the whole time he was there, he was planning out his new business called Qua Services (“You can’t have Quality without Qua”). I used to hate him. I remember thinking that if someone ever was to beat me up right in front of him, he would probably just have stood there and watched. I can’t even begin to tell you how much that has changed! Ever since he has been home, he has bent over backwards to show me his love in every way and I am SO thankful that we are where we are now. I love him so much! I told him that I needed help moving apartments four hours before we were to start moving and he hooked up his trailer and was there in that amount of time. Also, his taste in women has improved greatly! I love his girlfriend Jaimie! She is just so sweet. She was actually the one who told Paul that I needed help moving because I was too afraid to ask. She has become a part of the family and I hope she becomes a part of our permanent family sometime too!

After me is Aaron. Aaron is eighteen and was born with autism. He went through most of his school career with an IEP to help him through classes and keep him on track but through God, his sophomore year was able to do it all on his own. He is basically a straight A student and I could not be more proud of him. He got his license and is enjoying being able to drive everywhere. I felt like we got even closer when we went to Universal Studios and Disneyland this summer with Matty and my dad. Aaron wanted me to go on California Screamin’ with him.

ImageImage

 

This ride goes from 0-55 mph in 4 seconds at the beginning AND has a loop in it. Needless to say, I was terrified. When we got to the launch, Aaron insisted he sit in the seat next to me, I kept telling him “Aaron I am so scared, I am so scared” over and over again but he reassured me that it was fun and after three more times of riding it I decided it was too :D. I am so proud of all he has overcome and the man he has grown into!

Image

Then there is my sister. Let me tell you about Abigail. She is one of the most stubborn people you will ever meet but she is also one of the funniest people you will ever meet. Throughout the week, her and I send each other pictures of ourselves doing the ugliest face we possibly can. And of course we also have conversations like these:

Image

She is gorgeous and is one of my favorite people to photograph because she is just such a unique person. She is a such a compassionate person and has become one of my best friends. She is totally her own person and isn’t effected by the world which I find to be very admirable.

Now for my little baby, Matthew. From when he was a baby to the age of five I called him “babe”. Then, one day he looked up at me and said, “Sarah, why do you call me babe? My name is Matthew” as he gave me a very stern look. I love watching movies with him because he has this hilarious belly laugh that is contagious even if you don’t want to laugh. He is one of the most compassionate people I have ever come into contact with. Whenever I fall asleep on the couch when he is in the room, I will always wake up with a blanket over me. When I came home for Christmas, he had made his lower bunk up for me and had a stuffed animal sitting on the pillow for me. But that’s not all–he knew that I am a naturally cold person and that I sleep with a heater on in my room so he brought in a heater in the room for me. What a great kid! He will make an amazing husband some day (I like to think it’s because of the great training that I have given him…)! Whoever he ends up marrying though… is gonna have to be an amazing woman for me to approve. 

So truly blessed by the family that God has given me.

I love you all!

Sarah Joy

Leave a Reply

