Haha, this should be a good one.

Ladies and Gents, strap on your steel-toed boots because I am about to do some toe stomping. 

If you don’t like having to look at your own heart and actions–I would suggest that you get off this blog. Right now

I come from a little Southern Baptist church in a small town in Tennessee. I love all of the people there, but, I did not realize just how judgemental it was until I moved here and experienced a non-denominational church which I LOVE! No, this is not all about the church–this about Christians as a WHOLE. I remember one church sermon I sat through, wanting to walk up to the stage and take over the mic the whole time. Why? 

Well, describe God to me: holy, perfect, omniscient, etc. If I was a non-believer and I sat through that sermon I would assume that God was hateful. Why? Because that is how a majority of Christians portray Him. 

Now, this whole sermon was about homosexuality and the whole time it was, “hell, hell, hell, hell…did I mention hell?” Not ONCE  did I hear a, love the sinner, hate the sin. This major detail is what all Christians are missing. We are so quick to judge and point out what someone else is doing. What about our sin–our hearts? Why aren’t we looking at them? 

Matthew 7:3

“Why do you see the splinter in your brother’s eye, but don’t notice the log in your own eye?”

Why is it that we look at homosexuality with such hate but we can forgive someone for cheating on their spouse. Or even abuse–why is that lower on the scale?

Actually, let’s put this in perspective–why IS there a scale? 

1 John 4:7

“Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.”

Or what about:

1 John 4:8

“Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

1 John 4:20

“If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen”

How are we missing the point of God? How are we going to do God’s work and bring people to Him when what we are known for is hate and hypocrisy?

When doing some research, I found this little treasure  “Many of those outside of Christianity … reject Jesus because they feel rejected by Christians.” (https://www.cbn.com/entertainment/books/Colson_unChristian.aspx)

Here is your challenge:

Examine your heart and make sure that it lines up with the things of God because if it doesn’t, you are not actively portraying the holy heart of the Lord. 

 

Leave a Reply

