The only unconditional thing

So here lately I have been REALLY hooked on a couple of songs. After thinking and listening to them frequently, I realized that they all have the same theme. 

One of the songs is, “Never Gone” by Colton Dixon.

My favorite line from that song is, of course, the chorus. 

“Now the lights are on, see I was never gone. I let go of your hand to help you understand I’m with you all along, oh I was never gone.”

This is something that I struggled with for a while when I was having really bad attacks of anxiety. I always thought to myself, “God is gone from me and I can’t feel Him with me right now.” Everytime this song comes on, I can’t help but tear up because it describes perfectly what I have gone through. However, looking back on it now, I see and feel confident in the fact that He did let go of my hand–He stood next to me, but He did let go of my hand. Some of you reading this now are thinking to yourself, No he didn’t. Wait wait wait and let me finish. He, the God of this universe, let go of my hand because I was trying to do it on my own (which is impossible–trust me, I have tried several times) and He knew that if He let go of my hand for even just one moment, I wouldn’t be able to do it on my own and I would turn around and run back to Him. That is actually a lot like a message we heard from a guest speaker at our church a while ago–where the message was, “God OFTEN gives us more than we can handle so we have to turn back to the one who can handle it all.”

Another song playing like an audio track in my head is, Never Once by Matt Redman.

Lyrics from that song are, “Never once did we ever walk alone, never once did you leave us on our own, you are faithful God-you are faithful.”

And He is! I know I shouldn’t be telling you this, but test Him-see how faithful He is. However, I CAN in fact promise you that it most likely will NOT be in your timing–I think that’s what gets a lot of people frustrated with God and whether He is, in fact, faithful. God has all the time in the world–He’s the one that even created time. Why, oh why, should He listen to your time schedule. Oh, trust me, it is frustrating as all get out but it proves, in the end, that God knows what is best for us even it sucks having to go through it. In the end, he proves himself to be faithful–time and time again. 

Don’t ever doubt Him and His timing. In fact, keep praying–keep looking towards Him and His all-knowing, all perfect will. 

Until next time friends,

Sarah Joy

Leave a Reply

