Loving someone no matter the circumstance

1 Corinthians 13:13

“And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

As is customary to far too many family dinners, deep conversations/complaining sessions sometimes may arise. The topic this family get-together:  Bruce Jenner (now known as Caitlyn Jenner). Why or how this topic arose I cannot disclose–basically because I have no idea at all HOW or WHY it needed to be talked about. In my opinion, it didn’t need to be talked about at all.

Let me disclose some details first–I have been extremely blessed to have grown up in a family full of believers who have greatly encouraged my walk with the Lord. Second, dinners usually go really well but I am passionate about people and felt that I needed to speak out–somebody did and honestly has needed to for quite some time. After completely dissing and talking about how disgusted they were with what he was doing and how grotesque of a person that he was, I couldn’t take it anymore. It wasn’t just them; it wasn’t just my family that happened to being him into the conversation. It has been everywhere–the news, conversations with friends and coworkers and now my family’s dinner? Um, no.

I spoke up and stated that people needed to quit talking about him and trashing him because he is a human too and he has emotions just like everybody else. This is NOT the first transgender person that has been on this earth. Nor will this be the last transgender person on this earth.

This human being is God’s human being–God’s CREATION. I know that what he is doing is wrong and I know that it is a sin to lust towards the same sex, however, I also know that it is shameful and sinful to lust towards the opposite sex. Why is his sin showcased so much? Why is his sin so wrong? It is just as wrong as what I do or what everyone else does. God is not Annubis. (Annubis was the Egyptian god that weighed the hearts of the dead against the feather of Ma’at who is the goddess of truth.) God DOES NOT weigh out our sins to see who’s is the greatest.

Matthew 7:1-5

“Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

Basically, the main thing I am trying to drive home is that you and I are the same in God’s eyes. Not one of us is perfect but God calls us to love the sinner and hate the sin. He does not call us to hate the sin and hate the sinner. That is not part of God’s character. Each and every day you and I should be trying to strive towards God’s likeness and hating someone is not in God’s character.

Remember that we are all God’s people. We are all struggling with someone in our lives but God still chooses to love us. While we believe that each and every sin is wrong, we also need to believe that God’s love and God’s power is the ONLY THING that can change a person’s heart. God can and will use you if you let him but showing people hate is not going to do anything besides push people away from the church and inevitably Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

