To my mom and dad

First of all, thank you. Thank you for everything. Thank you for teaching me that life is not about the big things but it is all about the small joys of everyday life. Thank you for making me excited to wake up in the morning and sit on the couch squished in between  my siblings while we watch tv. Thank you for always working so hard to take care of all of us–I recognize that is no small task.

Thank you dad for waking up at 4:30 in the morning even on the weekends to work on bids for work and thank you mom for still continuing to go to school just so maybe you can take some of the work load off of dad.

Thank you for showing me what a marriage should be–what parents should be. I feel sorry for my future husband because I have been so spoiled in the ways of what a husband should look like. He is definitely going to work to be half as good as you, dad. Thank you for always being there for me whenever I need it (even though I don’t live under your roof anymore) and being that encouraging voice when I need it.

I want to be the kind of parents you are too. I want my kids to know what it is like to do things that don’t cost a lot of money; over time, I have realized that those are my favorite things–those have always been my favorite things. I want my kids to love camping, and hiking, and riding bikes, and playing on playgrounds and gosh, using their imaginations (what a concept!).

I want my kids to see what it is like to have such great parents–to love their lives and know my husband and I would do anything for them.

Thank you mom and dad for being such good examples.

 

IMG_0076

Love,

Sarah Joy

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lisa Sims says:

    What a great tribute to your parents, Sarah!! You are right. It’s finding joy in the little things that make an impact, not in material things. You are blessed to have your mom and dad as parents. They are true examples of Godly loving parents who work hard to provide the life and experiences you’ve had. Cherish them!

Leave a Reply

